Best New Tracks: KAYTRANADA, MGMT, Offset and More

Best New Tracks: KAYTRANADA, MGMT, Offset and More

As the week in music comes to a close, Hypebeast has rounded up the best projects for the latest installment of Best New Tracks.

This week’s lineup is led by KAYTRANADA with Rochelle Jordan and Channel Tres, Offset and MGMT, who each released the tracks “Lover/Friend” and “Stuntin,” “Don’t You Lie” and “Bubblegum Dog,” respectively. Also joining this selection are offerings from Lil Wayne with Shabba Ranks, Jeymes Samuel and Buju Banton, Genesis Owusu, Joshua Crumbly, Da Beatminerz with KRS-One, Sexxy Red, Erick the Architect with Joey Bada$$ and FARR and Bas with AJ Tracey.

KAYTRANADA x Rochelle Jordan/Channel Tres – “Lover/Friend,” “Stuntin”

KAYTRANADA releases the double single “Lover/Friend” with Richelle Jordan and “Stuntin” with Channel Tres. “The ‘Lover/Friend’ is really the single stunning sound on the album. I put it as a beat. I really love the song. I didn’t think it would fit the album,” he says of the track via Apple Music. He further says of the upcoming album, “I think this album is going to be more hands-on, and it’s unapologetically like, we’re going to do it right. Even if I did it right before, I’m like, okay, I’m in a new phase in my life and I’m going to package it how I want it in a way, because I already did that. ”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Offset – “Don’t You Lie”

Offset delivers an accompanying music video for his Set It Off track, “Don’t You Lie.” Co-directed by Terrius Mykel and the artist himself, the visual sees him driving around and showing off his spacious mansion.

Watch: YouTube

MGMT – “Bubblegum Dog”

MGMT preps for their upcoming album Loss of Life, which drops February 23, 2024, with their new single “Bubblegum Dog.” Directed by Julia Vickerman and writer/director/The Best Show co-host Tom Scharpling, the accompanying visual finds MGMT’s Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser paying tribute to numerous scenes from classic ‘90s alternative videos. “We all saw the video for ‘Bubblegum Do;’ as an opportunity to combine the charming, DIY, surreal, cardboard craft aesthetic of shows like Yo Gabba Gabba and The Mighty Boosh with these ultra-serious grunge videos we grew up watching on MTV – all that heavy, brooding angst smashed up against absurd childlike fun,” Vickerman and Scharpling say in a statement.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Jeymes Samuel x Lil Wayne x Shabba Ranks x Buju Banton – “Hallelujah Heaven”

Jeymes Samuel enlists Lil Wayne, Shabba Ranks and Buju Banton for the track “Hallelujah Heaven.” The single is taken from the forthcoming feature length film The Book Of Clarence, which is directed by Samuel and co-produced by JAY-Z, which premieres January 12, 2024.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Genesis Owusu – “Survivor”

Genesis Owusu unveils “Survivor” as the 12th track to his sophomore album, STRUGGLER. “THE STORY NEVER ENDS, THE ROACH KEEPS ROACHING. THROUGH SPACE, TIME, FIRE & BRIMSTONE,” the artist says in a statement.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Joshua Crumbly – “Morning”

Joshua Crumbly announces his upcoming EP P.S. (releasing February 8, 2024) with the single “Morning.” He describes the track as a song “like an exhalation,” adding, “It’s a chance to release all the negativity from within and find the light.” The project will followup 2021’s ForEver, which will serve as a bridge to his next full-length effort.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Sexxy Red – Hood Hottest Princess (Deluxe)

Sexxy Red debuts the deluxe version of her latest project Hood Hottest Princess, which features new guest appearances from Chief Keef, 42 Dugg, G Herbo, Summer Walker and Sukihana. She also reveals the new track “Free My N***a,” which arrives with a visual that sees her take on the prison complex.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Da Beatminerz x KRS-One – “Seckle”

Da Beatminerz join KRS-One for the track “Seckle.” Mr. Walt says, “We have had the privilege to work with the great KRS-One for over 20 years now and this is the song we always wanted to make with him. It is an honor and a pleasure.” Evil Dee adds, “It’s always dope working with KRS-One. We always make those dope Boom Bap Joints with him. Word!”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Erick the Architect x Joey Bada$$ x FARR – “Shook Up”

Erick the Architect announces his solo debut LP I’ve Never Been Here Before (dropping February 23, 2024) with the single “Shook Up” featuring Joey Bada$$ and FARR. “I’ve known Joey forever! We’ve worked on so many things together, but this is the first time we officially have put out a song as a rap duo,” the Flatbush Zombies member says. “I’ve always admired Joey’s ability to tell stories and he came to mind as soon as Linden and Romeo played me the demo of the record. I think people look at Joey and I as true lyricists. Through him and I never want to appear as one-dimensional, we’ve garnered a loyal fan base that expects us to give them substance. I loved bringing both of these worlds together, as I’m a huge fan of FARR as both producers and writers, and ‘Shook Up’ is the perfect marriage of hip-hop and soul in a way only we could create. I feel like we can all relate to songs about relationships, especially ones that pose a question: ‘Lust, or life? You can choose.’”

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music

Bas x AJ Tracey – “179 Deli”

Dreamville’s Bas joins forces with AJ Tracey for “179 Deli.” The drill-inspired cut nods to Bas’ New York upbringing and is set to appear on his upcoming album We Only Talk About Real Shit When We’re F*cked Up.

Listen: Spotify | Apple Music
Source: Read Full Article